30 Second Review: Where The Wild Things Are

30 SECOND REVIEW:  Where The Wild Things Are
Directed by Spike Jonze, released October 16, 2009

This recent dramatization of Maurice Sendak’s beloved children’s classic was lovingly created, from the subtle, sensitive direction to the precious acting (Max Records is perfect in the role of Max, giving a performance that is unaffected and genuinely innocent; the voice acting is star quality, and wonderfully done).  The look of it is amazing, both in its understated solidity and in its sweep of the imagination.  Lots of people put a lot of effort and creativity to this movie.

Unfortunately, it’s just too much.  Not in look or style, but in content.  The need to add content is understandable – the book only takes a few minutes to read, after all.  But too much was added in the way of thematic material (alienation, conflict, friendship, loyalty),  so that the lovely simplicity of the book was lost… as so was I, as a viewer.  It all was well done – but it was just too, too much.  I would have preferred a shorter movie with less content.  And call me petty, but I missed having the closing point of the book not made in the movie.  The ending left me disappointed.

I’m glad I saw this movie at the theatre with my family, and it probably will warrant a rental when it comes out on home video, but it’s not going to make it into our personal video library.  I’d give it a generous B-, simply because it was so lovingly produced.

~ by arcticwren on January 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “30 Second Review: Where The Wild Things Are”

  1. Let me know what you think, Michael – I’d be interested in hearing your impressions.

  2. Going to be watching our Screener copy tonight. It’s one I have been very much looking forward to seeing and am curious how I’ll feel about it.

  3. It’s definitely worth seeing it at the Riverview. Heck, it’s worth seeing at Southdale if it was still there! Just not worth it being an enduring part of the household library. Hope you and Maddie have fun! (And happy birthday tomorrow!)

  4. Thanks for the review – Maddy and I have not seen it yet but I believe it’s at the Riverview and it looks like it’s worth the 2 bucks.

Leave a Reply

 
