100 Words / Prompt: Honor

Note:  My first attempt, therefore, somewhat utilitarian in order to get a feel for the constraints of exactly 100 words.  It will be interesting to see how familiarity may breed freedom of expression.

February 3, 2011 / Prompt:  Honor

My dog’s chance at having an off-leash area developed within our local community park was derailed by a small group who felt this would be disrespectful to Martin Luther King, the park’s namesake.  While I feel their protest was misguided, their reasoning antiquated and their emotional rhetoric ludicrous (comparing pets to attack dogs used against protesters in the Sixties, really?), ultimately, dropping the plan was the correct decision.  Promoting inclusive, diverse usage of a community park would in no way have been disrespectful to Dr. King, but honoring the genuinely painful memories of a group of civic warriors trumps all.

~ by arcticwren on February 4, 2011.

8 Responses to “100 Words / Prompt: Honor”

  1. Very cool! You’re totally making me want to try 100 words! (I just need to finish the never ending, too many words to count project first!)

    • Thank you! I AM having fun with it – I know it’s only been 2 weeks, but I’m looking forward to it every week. I may do a double-entry one of these weeks.

  2. Welcome! I love to see newcomers. 🙂 I especially enjoy watching the process of someone finding their voice in 100 words. Great start.

  3. Congratulations on a well written first entry! And welcome to the fold.

  4. welcome to 100 words – I like your take on this. And – if it is autobiographical, I like your sensitivities to what could be a touchy situation. Well said.

    • Thank you, Barbara. It is autobiographical, and just recently resolved. When I thought of “honor”, this immediately jumped to mind, and I couldn’t shake it – their honor, at battles long past, and the honor it takes to stand aside in respect to what was.

Leave a Reply

 
