100 Words / Prompt: Engages

After breakfast of cinnamon raisin toast (two slices), she engages the phantom cat on her couch in gentile conversation.  She is aware this is strange, bizarre even, but fears falling out of practice more than she fears the label of eccentricity.  After all, she used to make a living from speaking in front of others – and firmly believes she will so again.  So to fill in some of the empty hours, she engages the creature in a tete-a-tete to keep her mind sharp.  Why a cat is a mystery, but puss feels right and makes the most sporting of replies.

~ by arcticwren on February 8, 2011.

16 Responses to “100 Words / Prompt: Engages”

  1. Sometimes my kitty is the only company I want. I should probably be careful what I wish for!

  2. I have conversations with my dog all of the time. Sometimes I feel he answers me with his looks. I enjoyed this entry.

  3. I love this! Also, I am glad to see I am not the only one fearing this glimpse into the future. Although I think it has already been decided that I am to be the “eccentric” old lady on the block.
    Well done.

  4. A curious creature. Perhaps one day she will have a new audience!

  5. Love this!

  6. I can see myself in this situation in a few years. Nicely done, a very intriguing 100 words.

  7. I like your heroine’s spirit. As I grow older I fear losing the ability to speak and think the most. Good job!

  8. I love the last line! Good one.

Leave a Reply

 
