100 Words / Prompt: Sleek

How I miss those times at work, when each day we would be off like thoroughbreds and there was always a down-the-stretch, down-the-stretch, down-the-stretch to a thundering finish.  Take a breath and then work, work, without enough hours in the day, or enough bees in the hive and it was glorious.  I was polished and sleek then, being valued and giving value; sleeping sans dreams with worry as tonic.

Now my days are suddenly idle, and I feel myself growing soft and indistinct.  Try as I might (yet I don’t, or can’t) I sputter and stall, fading into mediocrity.

~ by arcticwren on March 20, 2011.

6 Responses to “100 Words / Prompt: Sleek”

  1. Wow. This is awesome. I am not retired, but currently unemployed and I so identify.

  2. Very good piece…I love the emotion.

  3. “sleeping sans dreams with worry as tonic” … oh to sleep that kind of sleep after a job well done. Wonderful descriptions.

  4. Thanks for the responses. Not retirement, though, Barbara… I was one of those who lost my job (of 25 years) when the economy crumpled. It’s been an interesting experience, to say the least.

  5. Wow – am I in touch with this! Hello – I’m visiting from 100 words. (my first round!) – enjoyed my visit here and I’m looking forward to more of your writing. xo

  6. oh, no . . . not the dreaded RETIREMENT! 🙂 Nice catch on the emotion. I have several acquaintances whose hubbies are recently retired and it is a whole new life from THEIR perspective as well.

Leave a Reply

 
