100 Words / Prompt: Inhibit(ed)

Note:  I misread this week’s prompt to be “inhibit” rather than “inhibited”; my error, but I didn’t want to change what I had written because, well, I kinda liked it and kinda had fun writing it, so I’m hoping the karma police will let this one slide.

~~~~~~

Don’t inhibit the habit –
the habit that lets me
feel happy, keep smiling
despite of my age.

Don’t inhibit the habit
that sometimes looks silly,
Or saucily frolics on
some rigid stage.

Don’t force me to settle
For dubious metal
That’s dull, full of dross
Not shiny or bright.

Don’t force me to tell you
Why now I don’t think through
The whys of my living or
consider what’s “right”.

Instead let me live life;
The life that I’ve chosen
Regardless of look or
of style or review.

Inhabit habitual
Life-full embracing;
It’s what I have chosen –
And worry, adieu.

~ by arcticwren on September 18, 2011.

6 Responses to “100 Words / Prompt: Inhibit(ed)”

  1. Awesome, love it. Rest assured the karma police shall leave you in peace on this one.

  2. I misread it too! All week I dismissed sentences that had the -ed form…
    if you hadn’t pointed it out, I might never have known!

    “Regardless of look or
    of style or review.”

    Words to live by.
    Robin

  3. Makes me think of the words : Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow ; it only saps today of its strength …
    Adieu to worry ! I love the tone and attitude in your writing !

  4. Fabulous! I loved the rhyme at the end of each stanza – kind of AA Milne fun – AND the message.
    Stella x
    (I don’t think my comment happened the first time, so trying again.)

  5. Fabulous! I loved the rhyme at the end of each stanza – kind of AA Milne fun – AND the message.
    Stella x

  6. and worry, adieu.
    Love this – glad you didn’t change it. I like the flow and the way the first lines roll off my brain’s tongue.

Leave a Reply

 
