100 Words / Prompt: Fragile

He sits with casual attentiveness, Mont Blanc poised.  “So, what brings you here today…?”

She smiles faintly.  “It was suggested that it might be good if I had someone to talk to.”  (“Easier to suggest than to do”, she thinks wryly.)  “But I don’t think it will help much.”

His eyebrows raise; she continues.  “See, I’m not fragile.  Can’t be.  Too many people counting on me being strong.  If I weaken, they fall.”

She sighs.  “I wish I could be.  Fragile. Wish I could just let it all go.  But the stakes are too high.” Frustratingly, tears reinforce her words.

~ by arcticwren on May 19, 2012.

5 Responses to “100 Words / Prompt: Fragile”

  1. First day of therapy. No one ever thinks they can afford to be fragile.

  2. Ah. Then the talking may help. If the emotion comes inflected with tears, then the frustration can also lead to hope. (Speaks one who has bawled her way through several therapists in her lifetime.)

  3. I’m pretty sure I’ve lived this moment. You captured it perfectly, right down to the Mont Blanc.

Leave a Reply

 
